1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
(805) 962-0058
innkeeper@uphamhotel.com

Reviews from the web – direct from the source, unfiltered

Trip Advisor Facebook Google

From our guests through TripAdvisor


From guests on Facebook

  • The Upham Hotel
    4.8
    powered by Facebook
    Jenny Magaña
    Jenny Magaña
    2018-10-29T00:45:02+0000
    We booked this hotel at the very last minute on a whim. When we arrived I was delighted at how nice and cozy this place is. The staff was very friendly, our room was very comfortable and nice. Here’s where it gets better: I sent my husband down for champagne glasses and fruit, we brought our own bottle. The staff asked him what we were celebrating, and in regular conversation he told them we we starting our anniversary festivities. Next thing you know there’s a knock at our door, a woman delivering a bottle of champagne. We did not order, so my husband calls downstairs only to find out they sent it to us! They also included a very lovely Happy Anniversary card! This was so unexpected! We are very grateful for such a nice gesture. Not only was this a beautiful place to stay and we definitely will stay again, we are so impressed with the service and kindness.
    Emma Covarrubias
    Emma Covarrubias
    2018-09-30T18:31:56+0000
    I Love this place. Has a rustic Victorian feel. Everyone is a delight. Grounds are beautiful. Great place to stay while in Santa Barbara.
    Vallie Rice
    Vallie Rice
    2018-09-08T20:59:20+0000
    My great aunt, Theodora Schurmeier, was a full time resident at the Hotel Upham in the 1960’s. She found it to her liking. She had excellent taste.
    Debbie Bergstrom Breeze
    Debbie Bergstrom Breeze
    2018-05-16T19:12:05+0000
    I have stayed here every time I am in Santa Barbara. Walking distance to State Street, great restaurant in the hotel, and the gardens and grounds are well maintained.
    Lynn Mayate
    Lynn Mayate
    2018-04-30T12:43:46+0000
    Marcia Reed
    Marcia Reed
    2017-12-18T03:09:53+0000
    BJ Franken
    BJ Franken
    2017-11-19T07:05:20+0000
    Very historical ambience. Very friendly staff. Cottage was awesome. Oh my. What charming cottage, it was like stepping back in time. Good size sitting / queen bed sleeping area room. Walk in closet with nice size bathroom. Working fireplace. Large tv and lots of space for your clothing. Also had a twin sleeper bed, which made it nice for extra guest. Nice sitting area porch with rose garden out side. With a very large quaint sitting lawn, garden area, with a nice bubbling fountain in a arbor area. Nice gazebo sitting area. Morning continental breakfast. Afternoon wine, cheese and crackers and fruit and fruit juice. Also, coffee, tea, and hot coco all day long. Late evening there is cookies and milk. There is an onsite restaurant - excellent food and friendly staff. The Upham Hotel and country house is with in a short walk to downtown, transportation, restaurants, Starbucks, show, antique stores, restaurants of multi bounty. No pets. Sorry. Place does need a general maintenance work to present the idea it was just built, and not over 100 years old. I came for the peacefulness, quiet, ability to sit outside and relax without being eaten by bugs, no neighbors constantly wanting to chatter. Wonderful ambiance. Recommend The Upham Hotel and Country House to anyone who wants the stepping back in time life and to feel special. Enjoy.
    Ron Dawson
    Ron Dawson
    2017-07-31T15:56:24+0000
    Shannon Bloxham Turner
    Shannon Bloxham Turner
    2017-07-09T19:30:12+0000
    Lovely, peaceful. I've stayed there twice, both experiences perfect. So accommodating. The Upham has provided me a place to make great, cherished memories.
    Karin Bergendal
    Karin Bergendal
    2017-07-05T22:51:54+0000
    I Love the hotel and the Victorian style.Beautiful,clean and good service.Perfect!!
    Kathleen Crist Horton
    Kathleen Crist Horton
    2017-04-27T01:46:01+0000
    Accommodations make you feel at home. The happy hour on the lawn is so relaxing. A great end to our vacation. I want to come back!
    Emily Rodenhi
    Emily Rodenhi
    2017-04-15T03:16:27+0000
    Tina Rich Mogensen
    Tina Rich Mogensen
    2017-04-13T02:52:48+0000
    Dominique Barba
    Dominique Barba
    2017-04-12T18:59:54+0000
    Syble Smith
    Syble Smith
    2017-03-17T19:39:15+0000
    Uphams is a very intimate Hotel with a very warm vibe. A nice getaway from the normal hustle of daily living. The in house restaurant was and added plus. Upham Hotel & Country Inn will be my annual personal getaway.
    Darren R. Moseley
    Darren R. Moseley
    2017-03-06T04:54:45+0000
    😎 I highly recommend The Upham Hotel if your looking for a place to stay in the Santa Barbra area. Location and staff was awesome !
    Lois Simons
    Lois Simons
    2017-03-04T01:29:45+0000
    Love this place❣ Has a rustic Victorian feel. Everyone is a delight. Grounds are beautiful. Great place to get away to.
    Nate Harris
    Nate Harris
    2016-12-06T02:15:55+0000
    Paige Blumberg
    Paige Blumberg
    2016-10-23T18:02:30+0000
    My son and I stayed for the weekend. It was a very nice experience. I strongly recommend it for families or a romantic getaway. You can't miss �
    Ger Da
    Ger Da
    2016-10-14T04:50:37+0000
    Zimmer schön! Essen lecker! Lage zentral, nur leider nicht direkt am Strand. Preisverhältnis passt!
    Karin Bruinsma
    Karin Bruinsma
    2016-09-20T06:25:51+0000
    Het meest romantische hotel tot nu toe ! Vlak bij downtown Santa Barbara, met eenprachtige tuin, een oase!
    Nora Mary Bridget Beaudette
    Nora Mary Bridget Beaudette
    2016-09-18T16:23:02+0000
    Ananya Paul-Majumdar
    Ananya Paul-Majumdar
    2016-07-04T01:30:10+0000
    Crystal Green
    Crystal Green
    2016-05-16T13:39:14+0000
    Nicole Annette Larkins
    Nicole Annette Larkins
    2016-05-12T04:23:45+0000

Google Reviews

  • The Upham
    4.4
    powered by Google
    Mark Burdick
    Mark Burdick
    15:49 12 Jun 18
    Our ‘go to’ when we’re in Santa Barbara, and we’re not alone It’s privately owned and always easy to get to our favorite restaurants by walking not driving. You’ll enjoy it
    Don Morath
    Don Morath
    22:10 07 May 18
    Quaint b&b in walking distance to State Street shops. Great little restaurant attached. Love to go back.
    Yael Levy
    Yael Levy
    05:36 02 Apr 18
    Super cute! This place is pretty, not too fancy, very clean and provides a good vacation feel. We are staying now at the 2 bedroom suite for two nights and we would stay one more night if it was available. We are with a 3 year old and a 7 month baby and this is super convenient. In contrast to other hotels that provide a “pack-and-play”, they have a normal cribwith a thick mattress! There is a cute grass area that we could run around with our daughter,, great restaurant that has enough variety for all the family, complimentary coffee all day, complimentary wine in the afternoon and Oreos and milk at night. It is minutes from down town (a block or two away) and still is not as busy as staying in at the actual city center. I’m happy we ended up hear.
    Mikka Croskell
    Mikka Croskell
    04:20 26 Feb 18
    Louie's restaurant that is within the Upham is by far still the best meal I've ever had. I was here back in October of 2017 and am now back again due to the ambience of it all. If you are ever looking for an amazing B&B the Upham is the place in Santa Barbara to go. And if you stay go to Louie's you will not regret it! Unless you aren't from here and start craving there food. Then you might regret some of it because their chefs are top notch!!! Already planning on another trip here in a few months!!!
    Gregg Oelker
    Gregg Oelker
    08:13 08 Dec 17
    We only came for lunch at the restaurant. It was a perfect place to eat a relaxed meal that was beautifully prepared and well presented. Not to mention delicious! A nice surprise close to the hotel where we did stay.
    Randy Jokela
    Randy Jokela
    03:06 27 Nov 17
    My wife and I stayed for one night and loved it! Location is great, an easy walk to State Street. The room was clean and comfortable. The Continental breakfast has lots to choose from, and the complimentary wine & cheese each afternoon and Oreos & milk each evening really made the stay feel hospitable. Overall, 10/10 would stay again.
    Sarah Brock
    Sarah Brock
    05:13 21 Sep 17
    Love the Upham. Close to Public Market, which had great food! Breakfast and Wine each day at Upham make for great day. Plenty of amazing restaurants close by. Amazing customer service! This place is my home away from home.
    See All Reviews